Monday, July 22, 2013

SIGNED BOOK GIVEAWAY!!! The Resurrection of Hannah


 photo 2dade9a2-7f82-421b-9eff-5ef0cda7cefc_zps142f7bba.jpg

This fantastic giveaway has been brought to you by
2 SIGNED BOOK Winners - open to US
3 Runner-up ebook prizes - open worldwide
Ending on Sunday 11th August at 11.59pm EST

Samantha Clark meets with a monthly group to delve into subjects of interest. They dabble in meditation, dream work, and hypnosis — just friends having fun. But lately Sammi is feeling off-kilter and plagued with poor sleep. Searching for a natural solution, she discovers a bitter herb known to induce slumber, whips up a concoction to sweeten the herb, and imbibes. Unbeknownst to her, these areas of experimentation are whirling together to form the perfect storm, one that will blow open an entrance in Sammi’s mind that leads to another world, a door that can never again be closed.

She becomes enmeshed with two friends in a tug of war between life and death: Melissa is dealing with a complicated pregnancy and Julie is wrestling with cancer. Adding to this turmoil is Sammi’s disconnect with her career as a psychotherapist; her life doesn’t seem to fit any longer. Into the drama walks Todd, a handsome, laid-back guy who lightens up her days. Trouble is, Sammi is having a hard time getting close, and a nagging sense of doubt and fear. Like so many times in the past …

But the topper to all this is the dreams. They begin innocuously…but quickly morph into mind-blowing spiritual adventures. The crazy nocturnal activity appears to be related to a soulful character trying to make himself known. In a quest to uncover the truth, Sammi researches clues discovered during her nighttime romps. What she finds is another facet of herself…all wrapped up in post-colonial 18th-century clothes. Sammi flies off to New England, and with the aid of the Rev. Clark, her skeptical father, she embarks on an adventure, revealing a tragic, centuries-old mystery. One only Sammi can solve.

Enter Below to Win !!  Good Luck !!
 photo hannahbadge2_zps05b51bc3.jpg

Friday, July 19, 2013

GIVEAWAY: It's Just A Dog by Russ Ryan - Signed Book Giveaway!!!

 
This Dogtastic Giveaway has been brought to you by
Open Worldwide
Ending on Sunday 11th August at 11.59pm EST

What if your dog died and then came back as a ghost…that could talk? Would you welcome him back with open arms or run away scared to death? 

This is the premise of IT’S JUST A DOG, a new novel about love, loss, and one man’s dog who rises up yapping from the grave.

Charlie Keefe is not just your typical dog lover –– he’s a world famous dog painter, a.k.a. “The Picasso of Pooch Portraits”. Unfortunately, Charlie’s beloved muse, Pete, his lovable Jack Russell terrier, has just died. And he’s totally devastated by the loss of his furry best friend.

So, after months of grieving over his dearly departed soulmate, Charlie reluctantly agrees to foster a new puppy –– a cute Cavalier King Charles spaniel named Brownie from the local animal shelter. Soon after, Charlie is surprised to find himself falling head over heels with this new puppy girl, his ‘Rebound Dog’, as he calls her –– as well as being romantically attracted to Janelle Jordan, the head hound at the dog rescue.

But then complications arise when the ghost of his old dog, Pete, mysteriously reappears one night and comes back to haunt him and the new puppy –– setting off a bizarre chain of events that throw Charlie’s life, career, and entire belief system into chaos!

If you’ve enjoyed such classic dog books as The Art of Racing in the Rain and A Dog’s Purpose, then you are bound to find a place in your heart for IT’S JUST A DOG. 

IT’S JUST A DOG is not just for dogs. It’s for anyone who has ever lost a pet –– and learned to love again. If you’re a feel-good fan of dog books, make IT’S JUST A DOG your special treat!

Enter Below and Good Luck !! 

Sunday, July 14, 2013

Beck Valley Books - The Resurrection of Hannah (A novel inspired by true events) by Kathryne Arnold

 photo hannahbadge2_zps05b51bc3.jpg


Samantha Clark meets with a monthly group to delve into subjects of interest. They dabble in meditation, dream work, and hypnosis — just friends having fun. But lately Sammi is feeling off-kilter and plagued with poor sleep. Searching for a natural solution, she discovers a bitter herb known to induce slumber, whips up a concoction to sweeten the herb, and imbibes. Unbeknownst to her, these areas of experimentation are whirling together to form the perfect storm, one that will blow open an entrance in Sammi’s mind that leads to another world, a door that can never again be closed.

She becomes enmeshed with two friends in a tug of war between life and death: Melissa is dealing with a complicated pregnancy and Julie is wrestling with cancer. Adding to this turmoil is Sammi’s disconnect with her career as a psychotherapist; her life doesn’t seem to fit any longer. Into the drama walks Todd, a handsome, laid-back guy who lightens up her days. Trouble is, Sammi is having a hard time getting close, and a nagging sense of doubt and fear. Like so many times in the past …

But the topper to all this is the dreams. They begin innocuously…but quickly morph into mind-blowing spiritual adventures. The crazy nocturnal activity appears to be related to a soulful character trying to make himself known. In a quest to uncover the truth, Sammi researches clues discovered during her nighttime romps. What she finds is another facet of herself…all wrapped up in post-colonial 18th-century clothes. Sammi flies off to New England, and with the aid of the Rev. Clark, her skeptical father, she embarks on an adventure, revealing a tragic, centuries-old mystery. One only Sammi can solve.

************************************************
My Review
************************************************
Kathryne Arnold, you are amazing! The Resurrection of Hannah was an amazing book. It had me guessing to the very end and I couldn't help myself and had to read it every chance I got! 

The main character makes you want to help her, soothe her, assist her in her journey. The whole concept surrounding the events in this book were very fascinating to a person like me who never remembers her dreams and always wishes she did. It made me want to run out and get dream books and different dream inducing herbs like Sammi did in the book.

Once I picked up this book it was all over for me. I couldn't do anything else until it was done! I just had to find out what happened next! 

I would definitely recommend it to anyone and personally I can not wait for the next installment of Sammi's story! 



Buy the book from
About the Author
Author Kathryne Arnold
I was raised in the northeastern United States, in the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch Country, and resided in a half-dozen homes or towns throughout my growing up years. My father was a reverend with a flourishing career, moving the family to various parishes as his calling dictated, which I view in a positive light as I was exposed to different communities and lifestyles. After graduating from high school at the age of seventeen, I moved with my father to Massachusetts.

Thrilled to begin college in New England, I jumped in with both feet and managed to excel in biological and psychological studies upon which I secured my very first "real" job as a Senior Psychiatric Counselor at a group home for adults with mental illness. Wanting to further my learning, I attended Suffolk University in Beacon Hill in Boston, and graduated two years later, obtaining a Masters degree in Counseling and Human Relations.   Over the next twenty years I concentrated further on my work in counseling and social services and became a licensed practitioner.

Several years ago, due to a deep longing to express my feelings in an alternative manner, I literally sat down one day and began writing my first novel. The resultant book, The Resurrection of Hannah, had been born out of a series of powerful dreams, along with compelling and coexisting experiences that inspired me to create a story that would capture the strength of my emotions. I had a yearning to shape a tale based around individuals in my life that I believed would make engaging characters. I had a strong desire to experience a higher level of creativity, to literally produce something out of nothing- a fascinating and challenging endeavor I could not ignore. It was during this time that I became a clinical hypnotherapist and a nationally certified counselor, as well as starting a private practice as a psychotherapist.   I also decided to move back to friends and family in Florida and worked again at the local Hospice, then more recently in community mental health. Once bitten by the writing bug, I could not help but pen my second work of fiction, The Fear of Things to Come. I am now in the process of writing another novel in what I consider a unique collection of adventure stories, the third in the Samantha Clark Mystery Series.

Follow the Author 
Website

 photo hannahbadge2_zps05b51bc3.jpg

 
printed book           ebook version

I received this book to review through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, all the opinions above are 100% my own.

Wednesday, July 3, 2013

Beck Valley Books Tour: It's Just a Dog by Russ Ryan

 photo 038ea0fa-48e1-436f-8991-2a099cf9b383_zps171c5e4e.jpg


What if your dog died and then came back as a ghost…that could talk? Would you welcome him back with open arms or run away scared to death? 

This is the premise of IT’S JUST A DOG, a new novel about love, loss, and one man’s dog who rises up yapping from the grave.

Charlie Keefe is not just your typical dog lover –– he’s a world famous dog painter, a.k.a. “The Picasso of Pooch Portraits”. Unfortunately, Charlie’s beloved muse, Pete, his lovable Jack Russell terrier, has just died. And he’s totally devastated by the loss of his furry best friend.

So, after months of grieving over his dearly departed soulmate, Charlie reluctantly agrees to foster a new puppy –– a cute Cavalier King Charles spaniel named Brownie from the local animal shelter. Soon after, Charlie is surprised to find himself falling head over heels with this new puppy girl, his ‘Rebound Dog’, as he calls her –– as well as being romantically attracted to Janelle Jordan, the head hound at the dog rescue.

But then complications arise when the ghost of his old dog, Pete, mysteriously reappears one night and comes back to haunt him and the new puppy –– setting off a bizarre chain of events that throw Charlie’s life, career, and entire belief system into chaos!

If you’ve enjoyed such classic dog books as The Art of Racing in the Rain and A Dog’s Purpose, then you are bound to find a place in your heart for IT’S JUST A DOGPart Book, Part Blog, ALL DOG, (Okay, there may be a few cat videos, too, to show some love for the other team!)

**********************************************
My Review
**********************************************


Ok So most of you have heard all about my wedding but I realized after telling the author I had written about my own loss of a dog that I hadn't actually written about my BoBo dog on this blog. I had a personal blog a while ago and I had written all about him on there. So my apologies to Russ who searched Read, Rate and Review for posts that did not exist! This is going to be part blog, part review, and all love! 

It's Just A Dog grabbed me immediately. I was only 6 pages into it and I was crying like a little baby! I even felt so much about this book that I found myself writing this long tear infused email to Russ Ryan (the amazing and brilliant author) before I could continue. I felt his pain over his obvious loss (even if I realized after reading the book and having a more clear mind that this book is fiction but HAD to be based upon his own loss due to the real, heart felt emotion he was able to portray through his words). 

This book is all about an artist who gets a dog and that dog ends up being his muse, launching his career to heights he never imagined. Pete, the dog, was everything to Charlie. People without children tend to feel as though their pets are their children. I know I do without a doubt! (Not saying that people with children do not feel the same way but you know what I mean!) Pete was getting up there in years and had been unable to travel with Charlie so Charlie had to leave him at home with his manager taking care of him when he went to a gallery opening in Paris. While he is gone Pete gets so sick that there was nothing more to do but to put him to sleep and Charlie lost his best friend. The story that follows includes ghost dogs, new puppies, and new human loves and it's all because one man loved one dog. This is a must read book for any dog lover and as of the day I am writing this review it was only listed at $2.99 for the E-Book on Amazon!!! Seriously that is a steal and you should be ashamed of yourself for paying that little for this amazing book but not ashamed enough to not get it right now! 

Now to my story and my reason for my ridiculous emotion response. Last year on February 29, 2012, I watched my little boy dog get hit by a car. I was helpless. I was angry and I was guilty. I had turned my back for one second and in that one second my life forever changed. I grieved, my fiance' grieved, and as hard as we grieved our little girl Lilly grieved 100 times harder! She cried, searched for him, stopped eating, moped around and just went into a depression. Witnessing her reaction to losing her best friend and love was harder than anything else we were dealing with. When Russ described Charlie crying and being so inconsolable on the plane ride home I thought of how I needed to go to Walmart and get dog food the very next day after BoBo died and how I probably looked like a crazy person because I was sobbing and snotting all over the dog food aisle to the extent that my mother had to pretty much carry me away, put me in the car, and go back in and get the food herself because I just couldn't do it. I took a few days off of work (luckily my boss was a big time animal lover and completely understood) and in those few days I did what most people that lose a fur-baby never do. I sat online searching for a new puppy. Not for me but for my little Lilly Pad who was breaking my heart more and more every hour. She had never been alone and she needed a friend and all I wanted to do was help ease her pain. About 4 days later we came across the perfect dog and companion for our little girl and grabbed her up right away. Do I regret it? Absolutely not. Do I think she "took BoBo's place"? NEVER! But what I do know is that she has helped my entire family heal. Both of our parents, both of us and most importantly Lilly Pad. 



This review is dedicated to my BoBo Alexander Pugh who doesn't leave our hearts or minds or even conversations for even a day. We miss you more than anything and we thank you for sending us our little Olivia Grace :)









Buy the book from....


About the Author 
russ ryan it's just a dog author photo2 medium

Aside from being a dog lover and a dog widower, RUSS RYAN has written and developed screenplays with the Hollywood producers of American Pie, Final Destination, and Fireflies in the Garden. He was also a writer on a really bad teen comedy, National Lampoon’s Repli-kate, starring Eugene Levy. This is his first novel.

In addition, he is the creator of Meansheets, a vintage movie poster blog that focuses on the greatest artists and illustrators from the 1940′s-1980′s.



Follow the Author 
Author's Website 
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads

 photo 038ea0fa-48e1-436f-8991-2a099cf9b383_zps171c5e4e.jpg


I received this book to review through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, all the opinions above are 100% my own.


Saturday, June 29, 2013

SNEAK PEAK: White Chalk by Pavarti K. Tyler

WHITE CHALK by Pavarti K. Tyler coming July 22, 2013


Literary Fiction/Coming of Age Novel with a brave look at teenage life, containing some strong adult themes to generate honest and frank conversation.




About the Book

Chelle isn’t a typical 13-year-old girl—she doesn’t laugh with friends, play sports, or hang out at the mall after school. Instead, she navigates a world well beyond her years.

Life in Dawson, ND spins on as she grasps at people, pleading for someone to save her—to return her to the simple childhood of unicorns on her bedroom wall and stories on her father’s knee.

When Troy Christiansen walks into her life, Chelle is desperate to believe his arrival will be her salvation. So much so, she forgets to save herself. After experiencing a tragedy at school, her world begins to crack, causing a deeper scar in her already fragile psyche.

Follow Chelle’s twisted tale of modern adolescence, as she travels down the rabbit hole into a reality none of us wants to admit actually exists.


  • Publisher: Evolved Publishing
  • Publication Date: July 22, 2013
  • Genre: Literary Fiction
  • SubGenre: Coming of Age
  • Audience: Adult
  • Pages: 250


ADD WHITE CHALK TO GOODREADS


a Rafflecopter giveaway


White Chalk (Evolved Publishing) marks Tyler’s third full length novel and promises readers familiar with her work the same mind bending experience.  Her other projects include: Shadow on the Wall (Fighting Monkey Press) and Two Moons of Sera (Fighting Monkey Press).  Shadow on the Wall has been received many awards: Winner of the General Fiction/Novel Category of the 2012 Next Generation Indie Book Awards, Winner in the Fiction: Multicultural category for The 2012 USA Best Book Awards, and Finalist in the Multicultural Fiction category for the 2012 International Book Awards.

White Chalk has been hailed as “brave”, “raw”, and “destroyingly beautiful”.  In line with novels such as White Oleander, Thirteen Reasons Why and Gemma, White Chalk invites you to witness one girl’s heartrending story of confusion and desperation.

Award winning author of multi-cultural and transgressive literature, Pavarti K Tyler is an artist, wife, mother and number cruncher. She graduated Smith College in 1999 with a degree in Theatre. After graduation, she moved to New York, where she worked as a Dramaturge, Assistant Director and Production Manager on productions both on and off Broadway. Later, Pavarti went to work in the finance industry several international law firms. She now lives with her husband, two daughters and one very large, very terrible dog. She keeps busy working with fabulous authors as the Director of Marketing at Novel Publicity and penning her next genre bending novel.

Find her around the web:



To signup for the main tour click HERE! The Finishing Faeries need you!



Tuesday, June 18, 2013

Candy crush?!?

Well I can honesty say that yet again I feel as though I have become addicted to a game! Candy Crush? More like Obsession!!!  It's out of control and I am killin it! Lol


I have no clue what I am thinking but let me tell you, having a game I can play ANYWHERE (candy crush is available via pc, Mac, android, and iOS :) which means unlike my criminal case game I can actually play this on my iPad and iPhone! That makes the addiction grow so much faster! 

It's very similar to Bejeweled inasmuch as you have to match 3-5 of the same type of things or "candy" pieces to make your way through the levels. Some require you to just reach a certain amount of points, some require you to bust all of the jelly and others require more but I may not have gotten there yet. I'm only on 79 right now and from what I see there are more than 300 levels!!! Run over to your App Store or google play or Facebook and get started now!!! 

It Is Absolutely nuts! Well I think my lives are refilled so I am off to play some more! Tell me what your addictive game is!!!! I'm always looking for new ones!

Monday, June 17, 2013

Hazardous Material Signed Book Giveaway!

 photo 8a7097a7-1538-417c-853c-4785f17f5922_zpsf3f0f23e.jpg 
This fantastic giveaway has been brought to you by
Open Worldwide
Ending on Sunday 7 July at 11.59pm EST

Bucky Dawson is a HazMat specialist with Los Angeles County Fire Department HazMat Task Force 103. His station is in Lancaster, CA--an area populated with meth labs and outlaw motorcycle gangs, as well as Edwards AFB, NASA, and top-secret aerospace facilities.
Bucky--divorced and lonely--struggles with painkiller addiction. One night Task Force 103 is toned out to support a Sheriff's raid on a meth lab. Bucky thinks he sees his sister at the door of a double- wide trailer in the Mojave Desert just before it explodes.

Bucky's life is in chaos. While he searches for answers to his sister's death, he is drawn into a conflict with the Vagos, who are selling drugs in the Mojave Desert. After a confrontation in which the Vagos nearly kill him, Bucky exacts an unusual revenge that only a HazMat firefighter could accomplish.

The novel twists and turns, bringing together firefighters, a sinister aerospace engineer, the Vagos -- led by the Dwarf, their seven foot tall Sergeant at Arms, and the Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department in a surprise ending you will not anticipate but you will certainly enjoy.

Enter Below and Good Luck !! 
 

Thursday, June 13, 2013

Beck Valley Books Presents: Hazardous Material by Kurt Kamm



Bucky Dawson is a HazMat specialist with Los Angeles County Fire Department HazMat Task Force 103. His station is in Lancaster, CA--an area populated with meth labs and outlaw motorcycle gangs, as well as Edwards AFB, NASA, and top-secret aerospace facilities. 

Bucky--divorced and lonely--struggles with painkiller addiction. One night Task Force 103 is toned out to support a Sheriff's raid on a meth lab. Bucky thinks he sees his sister at the door of a double- wide trailer in the Mojave Desert just before it explodes. 

Bucky's life is in chaos. While he searches for answers to his sister's death, he is drawn into a conflict with the Vagos, who are selling drugs in the Mojave Desert. After a confrontation in which the Vagos nearly kill him, Bucky exacts an unusual revenge that only a HazMat firefighter could accomplish. 

The novel twists and turns, bringing together firefighters, a sinister aerospace engineer, the Vagos -- led by the Dwarf, their seven foot tall Sergeant at Arms, and the Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department in a surprise ending you will not anticipate but you will certainly enjoy.

Buy the Book from...

About the Author
Malibu resident Kurt Kamm has used his contact with CalFire, Los Angeles County Fire Department, Ventura County Fire Department and the ATF, as well as his experience in several devastating local wildfires, to write fact-based firefighter mystery novels. He has attended classes at El Camino Fire Academy and trained in wildland firefighting, arson investigation and hazardous materials response.  He is currently riding with Los Angeles County Fire Department’s famed urban search and rescue task force. He is a graduate of the ATF Citizen’s Academy.

One of the Malibu fires, the 60 mile-per-hour Santa Ana wind-driven Canyon Fire, burned to his front door and destroyed the homes of several neighbors. Kamm said the lessons he learned from the County Fire Department while writing his books helped him save his home.

Kurt Kamm has built an avid fan base among first responders. Each of his firefighter mysteries features a firefighter in a particular discipline (wildland, arson investigation, paramedic, hazardous material response, and search and rescue).  His first novel, One Foot in the Black (2008) has become a favorite of firefighters.  Subsequent novels, Red Flag Warning: A Serial Arson Mystery (Aberdeen Bay, 2010) and Code Blood (MCM Publishing, 2012) have won numerous fiction awards (see attached summary). Kamm’s latest book, Hazardous Material, has just been released.  He is currently attending search & rescue training and working on his fifth novel.


Find the author on   


Photobucket
 
printed book          ebook version


I received this book to review through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, all the opinions above are 100% my own.

Wednesday, June 5, 2013

Series Shmeries!!!!

So with the release of the newest Crossfire novel Entwined With You, I have dove head first without taking a breath back into the land of Eva and Gideon Cross. It's a hot hot world out there ladies! I impatiently awaited my download of Entwined With You and was so excited when it finally downloaded!

I immediately opened it on my Kindle app on my iPad and was just as quickly irritated that I didn't know what the hell was going on! I have a tendency of reading books so fast. I devour them. This can cause quite an issue when it comes time to read a new book in a series when they only come out once a year or 2 years!

I read series. I love them. I live for them. I am a big time follower of about 18 different series. Why? Because I don't have to let go of my beloved characters, the people I invest so much time into learning about. I don't like knowing I will never hear anything new about a character that I have grown to love. When the final Harry Potter book came out I seriously cried knowing I would never have another book about Harry Potter and his band of amazing friends.

This is how I will feel when JR Ward discontinues her Black Dagger Brotherhood books and her Fallen Angels books. I will feel this sadness when Iris Johansen no longer writes Eve Duncan books. Janet Evanovich stops the Stephanie Plum hilarity from being in my life and every other author I read a series from. It's madness!

The problem with the newest Crossfire novel is that I was introduced to them as a way to get over my Fifty Shades of Grey hangover I had and now the stories are running together in my head at times. I have seriously been Crossfire reading for the past two days! (Thank god for unemployment!) I re-read Bared to You in less than one day and I am like 80% through Reflected in You so that means I am only 20% away from restarting Entwined With You!

On that note I want to know what you guys do when a new book comes out in a series. Do you read them all over again to refresh your memory? Do you skim through the last book? Just re-read the last book? Just dive right into the newest book and go from there??

Let me know in the comments below!

Monday, May 13, 2013

Lay Offs??? Good for blogging and wedding planning! :)

So you all know we have been busy. Destiny's baby shower was this past weekend, Jamie has been majorly busy getting things ready for her new little one to be here soon, and of course I am getting married in 53 days!

I always said that I have no clue how people plan weddings and work and do everything else they do and I guess my prayers were answered. I got laid off from my job this week. I was upset and mad and everything else until someone told me "Ashley, this is the best possible time to get laid off. You get unemployment. You can plan your wedding. You can blog again! Don't stress!"

Well here I am I am back! I can't wait because the one thing I always make time for is reading so now that I will have loads more time I can't wait to share some amazing books with you!

Just to give you an idea here are the last few books I read:

Lover At Last - JR Ward
Always the Designer, Never the Bride - Sandra D. Bricker
Beautiful Creatures - Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
Silver Linings Playbook - Matthew Quick

and so many more!

We also have a few new guest reviewers coming up soon for you guys so there are more reviews more often!

Let me know if you have a book you think we will love! I am always looking for more books to read!!!

Friday, May 3, 2013

Swallowtail Giveaway!!!!!

 
This fantastic giveaway has been brought to you by 
author Sheri Meshal and Beck Valley Books

Open Worldwide
Ending on Sunday 19th May at 11.59pm EST

Chicago wife, mother and finance executive Claire Cummings, arrives at work one morning to discover her friend Julia has embezzled millions and vanished. Blindsided and devastated by the betrayal, she’s sent home pending further investigation. Claire’s bizarre death the following day sends everyone reeling, guessing and looking for her in all the wrong places. In no time she's addicted to an enchanting menagerie of tricks and techniques for getting the living's attention, but most people are harder to reach than she'd ever dreamed and even harder to set free.

She was still a mother, a wife, a daughter and a friend... she'd move heaven and earth to keep it that way.

Sheri Meshal’s Swallowtail is a haunting story about life, love, loss and just how far we’ll go to control it all.

This debut from a thought-provoking new voice in fiction begs the question… what would you do if all the rules changed, and you were suddenly bestowed powers beyond your greatest imagination?

Enter Below and Good Luck !!

Saturday, April 27, 2013

Beck Valley Books Presents: Traces of Kara by Melissa Foster


Kara Knight can't wait to leave her hometown for the promise of nursing school and a fresh start on her future--leaving behind an over protective mother, a broken heart and painful memories. However, twenty-five miles away, the twin she doesn't know exists is determined to be reunited with the sister he cannot forget.

Kara is abducted and thrown into her obsessive captor's delusional world. As the past she thought she knew unravels around her, Kara struggles to make sense of the memories that come creeping back, threatening her sanity and her safety. Meanwhile, Kara's mother races against time to save the daughter she fears she will lose when a long-held secret is revealed. The hours tick away as her captor plays out his plan--to take Kara with him into death at the exact moment of their birth, never to be separated again.

TRACES OF KARA is an action packed, pulse pounding psychological thriller/suspense novel that features a determined killer who slowly loses his grip on reality as his carefully detailed plan starts to fall apart and a heroine determined to move forward with her life who now must reconcile everything she believed to be true about her family with the reality of their tragic past.

From International bestselling and award-winning author Melissa Foster comes her newest pulse-pounding thriller and Kindle Bestseller (Amazon US & UK) 

*****************************************************
Let me tell you something ladies and gents! This book rocked my world! I was a mess! At first to be completely honest I thought it was going to be another normal mystery thriller and that I was going to be happy with it in the end but still a little let down. No way no how was Melissa Foster letting that happen! She had me up and down and on edge and calm and I could not put it down!

Here's what I am most excited about though.......There was a huge cliffhanger!!!! That could mean another book! That could mean a series! That could mean that I will be going nutso over Melissa Foster's books!!! I have already added her other books to my TBR list and I really really hope that Melissa hears my pleas when I beg her to write more books about Kara!!!! I need more!!! 

*****************************************************


Author Melissa Foster's Website    Facebook    Twitter    Goodreads    Pinterest 

About Melissa Foster
Melissa Foster is the award-winning author of four International bestselling novels. Her books have been recommended by USA Today's book blog, Hagerstown Magazine, The Patriot, and several other print venues. She is the founder of the Women's Nest, a social and support community for women, the World Literary Cafe. When she's not writing, Melissa helps authors navigate the publishing industry through her author training programs on Fostering Success.

Melissa hosts an annual Aspiring Authors contest for children, she's written for Calgary's Child Magazine and Women Business Owners Magazine, and has painted and donated several murals to The Hospital for Sick Children in Washington, DC. Melissa's interests include her family, reading, writing, painting, friends, helping others see the positive side of life, and visiting Cape Cod.

Melissa is available to chat with book clubs and welcomes comments and emails from her readers. Visit Melissa on The Women's Nest or her personal website.

Buy the book from...... 


Photobucket
   
printed book            ebook version

NOW FOR THE AUTHOR'S GIVEAWAY

2 LUCKY WINNERS WILL EACH RECEIVE A
$10 AMAZON.COM GIFT CARD

Open Worldwide
Ending on Sunday 12th May at 11.59pm EST

Enter Below and Good Luck !!

Wednesday, April 17, 2013

Covet by JR Ward


My favorite thing about starting this site almost a year ago is definitely the amazing suggestions I have been getting from all of you, my fellow reviewers (Destiny & Jamie) and Beck Valley Books. I absolutely love working with all of you and I am so excited to be running this site and giving back to all of you with suggestions and reviews!

Last week I found myself without anything new to read. I immediately went through my TBR list and nothing was jumping out at me as a read me read me book. I will read them all eventually but I just didn't feel like any of them were what I should read right then and there.

I shot Destiny a message on Facebook and asked her for a suggestion and she asked me if I had read the Fallen Angel Series by JR. Ward. Now being a new fan of the "Warden" as she is lovingly referred, I went to my favorite site to find out what the first book was in the series.

The site Fantastic Fiction or www.fantasticfiction.co.uk has been a savior to me many times. I am one of those people that HATE reading books out of order so when a friend of mine told me about this site almost 10 years ago I felt like I had died and gone to heaven! I had finally found the site I was looking for! This site will tell you not only the books to series in order, but it will also show you EVERY single fiction book out there and when it came out or when it is coming out and give you blurbs on the books that have already had their back/inside covers released.

So I flew off to Fantastic Fiction and pulled up JR Ward and found the list of books in order for the Fallen Angel's series and immediately began reading Covet.

I had gotten these books about a year or so ago and for whatever reason I just never read them. Maybe I had others that were just more interesting at the time or I had a review for a book for Beck Valley Books or MVM that had to come first. For the life of me I can not understand why I didn't devour them as soon as they were acquired!

As soon as I began the first book and met Jim Heron and Vin diPietro I was in love! The book begins with Jim and his history as a member of Xcorps, a secret military branch that specializes in assassinations  He has left the group (against the rules) and ends up at a bar where he meets a woman and takes her back to his truck and has his hot hot way with her. He wakes up the next morning, goes to work as a contractor and gets distracted by the owner of the property and ends up being electrocuted and dies. My eyes could not believe what they were reading!!! What in the world is going on? Why would they introduce you to a character and then kill him off within the first 5% of the book? Where could they possibly go from here?

The answer was revealed right away. It just so happens that Jim is going to "save all of humanity" and will be returning to earth as an angel who has a mission. He must save 7 souls and if he does all of the souls that have been damned will be released and the world's humanity will be saved. If he fails all of the souls in heaven and hell will be damned and humanity lost.

That's all I can really say about it without giving a boat load away. (The "Ward-en" has a tendency to give so much in her books so reviewing them has been difficult without ruining major plot twists to my readers.) You will fall in love with their characters and their struggles, hate the bad guys or lady in this case, and root for the good guys to kick some ass!!!!

I will tell you this much. As a BDB (Black Dagger Brotherhood) fan, I was excited to see some of the same character's show up in these books too (it's also set in Caldwell, NY) BUT while the setting and some of the characters make cameo appearances, it is not the same so if you are looking for a second BDB series you are looking in the wrong place and shame on you because nothing can take the place of the brothers!!!! :)


Feel free to use our affiliate link below to get your own copy of this amazing book :) 



Check out the "Warden"'s official site here





Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Beck Valley Books Presents: Swallowtail by Sheri Meshal


 

Chicago wife, mother and finance executive Claire Cummings, arrives at work one morning to discover her friend Julia has embezzled millions and vanished. Blindsided and devastated by the betrayal, she’s sent home pending further investigation. Claire’s bizarre death the following day sends everyone reeling, guessing and looking for her in all the wrong places. In no time she's addicted to an enchanting menagerie of tricks and techniques for getting the living's attention, but most people are harder to reach than she'd ever dreamed and even harder to set free.

She was still a mother, a wife, a daughter and a friend... she'd move heaven and earth to keep it that way.

Sheri Meshal’s Swallowtail is a haunting story about life, love, loss and just how far we’ll go to control it all.

This debut from a thought-provoking new voice in fiction begs the question… what would you do if all the rules changed, and you were suddenly bestowed powers beyond your greatest imagination?

**********************************************
Ok so I must first start out by saying this book was nothing like what I thought it was! I thought this was a crazy murder mystery and it turns out I was right but not really. I mean there was a death and it was a mystery to some of the main characters but as the reader you know what happened so the mystery was implied just not there. You begin this book thinking it would be all about the bank and the missing millions and you end up about 40 pages into the story not even caring about that part of the story at all! 

Now does that mean I didn't like the book? Absolutely not! I loved this book! So much so that I read it in about 3 days and I still had to cook, clean, and work 2 jobs all while wedding planning! This book couldn't have come at a better time. I started it after I had a strange back injury happen when I was napping. I don't know what I did in my sleep but not only did I still feel awful (I took the nap because I started to feel run down like I had a cold starting) but I also somehow managed to throw my back out so this book was my best friend during the daily doctor's appointments that I had to make and sit through. 

There is no better book to read when you want to forget the world than this one right here! Sheri Meshal's perspective on what happens after we die is one that I really loved. It wasn't your normal run of the mill you die you go to heaven the end. The way she had the main character's interact with her loved ones really moved me. To be completely honest I am not sure what I believe happens to us after we die and I love Meshal's take on such a controversial subject. 

If you dare to be open minded this should be on your TBR list for sure!!!! I give this one a 5 star rating. Pick it up but don't blame me when you can't put it down :) 




About the Author
Sheri Meshal spent most of her childhood on an old farm in Iowa. She is an author by day and chauffeur by night... for a tad bit longer. Swallowtail took over six years to write and was inspired by bizarre events which occurred shortly after her father's passing in 1998. Best friends, they'd engaged in countless conversations regarding the possibility of life after death and enjoyed sharing books on the subject years before he was diagnosed with lung cancer. After a myriad of unexplainable events, Sheri realized had she died first, she would've done everything in her power to get her father's attention and show him all the things she could do.

Her father had informed her that she was a writer long before she could begin to accept the possibility. In her heart, she knew he should've been the writer, and if she did possess any talent for it, it was due to his DNA. She began writing for both of them and often wondered if he helped her, as crucial research repeatedly found its way to her by the strangest means. When she met medium Jonathan Louis, he desperately tried to avoid a cliche topic. Exasperated, he finally gave in saying, "I don't want to say this. Whenever I do, the room goes crazy. Sometimes it just is what it is and nothing more, but what does it mean when I say the word butterfly to you?" Overcome with emotion, she confessed she'd written a novel titled Swallowtail about a dead woman communicating with her friends and family. He answered softly with a smile, "He helps you."








Buy the book from ..... 
Amazon.co.uk
Amazon.com








  
printed version           ebook version


I received this book to review through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, all the opinions above are 100% my own.


Share :)

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...