Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Let's Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny "The Bloggess" Lawson



Happy Fourth of July!!!!!



From Amazon -
For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internetstar Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.
Jenny Lawson realized that the mostmortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend neverhappened—are in fact the ones that define us. In Let’s Pretend This NeverHappened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarreupbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and herrelationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include:“Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to MyHusband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; “And Then I Snuck a DeadCuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believethese things without proof) accompany the text.


 My Thoughts

I have been a huge fan of Jenny Lawson's Blog ever since someone sent me a link to the BeyoncĂ© the metal chicken's debut blog post. From the second I read the punch line “Honestly, this whole chicken is really a lesson in picking your battles more carefully," I found myself thinking that I should just buy a metal chicken every time there was a debate in my house over a purchase big or small. (This situation is detailed much better in a later chapter of the book.)

Now onto the book.

First let me preface this (just as the author did) by saying this book is not for those that shy away from profane language. The use of the "f-word" and other words that some may find offensive are extremely prevalent but being used to such things I can honestly say that I loved this book from the moment it downloaded on my kindle. (Pre-Ordering a Kindle book is seriously like watching a pot of water wait to boil - I felt like I was waiting forever!)

From having pet raccoons in the bathtub to running into herdad’s deer carcass (something I know was my biggest fear as a child of a hunter) to the aforementioned “Big Metal Chicken” incident, I wasn’t let downin the slightest. This book was laugh-out-loud funny, and a great look into the author’s less than conventional upbringing.

I would seriously recommend this book to anyone who is not easily offended and had a less than normal childhood themselves. I promise you, you will thank your lucky stars for the childhood you had and at times feel like you were not alone AT ALL.

So go ahead turn that page and let me know what you think!!!

GET IT FOR YOUR KINDLE HERE

GET IT FOR YOUR NOOK HERE

2 comments:

  1. Saving this for my vacation! Can't wait to read it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You will not be disappointed!!! Have you ever been to www.thebloggess.com ? I definitely recommend it in the interim :)

      Delete

Share :)

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...