Friday, December 21, 2012

Happy holidays and all that jazz!!!!

Happy holidays readers!!! Merry Christmas, happy Chanukah, happy kwanza, and any other holidays you may celebrate!!!!!

We love you all and will be back after the holidays when things calm down! :)

Monday, December 10, 2012

If I Should Die Before My Dog by Joe and Cathy Connolly




A Dog Lovers lasting guide.......An beautifully illustrated interactive book that one fills in all of the information about their dogs life in the event they can no longer care for them to help ensure your pets are taken care of.

A thought provoking check list for dog lovers, who unfortunately and with much sadness can no longer take care of their dog. 

This book will assist those who want to prepare for their dogs future in an easy to use format that will guide them through the process of telling the "story" of their dogs life, for their pets "Next Guardian". 

None of us can predict the future, but in the event situations arise such as death, health impairment or left with no other choice but to give them up, this book will be there to assist your beloved pet with the transition from one home to another.



This has been one of my favorite assignments with MVM Book Reviews :) It really really is a book that is now close to my heart. It is also one of the hardest for me to write.

We (my fiance and I) have two Mal-shi dogs. One of my Mal-shi pups was hit by a car on February 29th, 2012. Before this event I had no clue that dogs and pets actually grieve. We were devastated of course but our little girl was beyond devastated. She stopped eating, would constantly whine and cry especially after she would look around for him and not find him, they had never been apart her whole life, he was 3 she was not even a year old. I could almost hear her pleas and screams as I was forced to watch this seemingly endless cycle. She lost her best friend, her partner in crime, her love. Now if we were to leave our pets unexpectedly I can not even imagine how they would handle it. I am lucky enough to have a mother who would take them in a heartbeat and knows everything there is to know about them and their quirks (we have since bought Lilly a friend -actually less than a week later and she perked up within a day. They are the best of friends now) but if my mom was not around I would need this book more than anything else in my possession. 

When there is a death people are not always prepared for the care of their pets and other people can easily over look a dog or cat especially if they do not have pets themselves. This book is perfect for making sure the furry friends you love most are taken care of if you should die before your pet. From the schedules to vets to groomers to treats and food, you need to leave directions for your babies. I plan on keeping this book in my fire-proof box with our wills and all of our other important documents. 

My favorite sections of the books are these:

1. Riding in the Car: My girls get car sick and we have to give them what we call "the juice" to keep them calm or they will get car sick everywhere (we found this out about 40 minutes into our first 9 hour car trip with them. Fun stuff right?!)

2. Grooming: My babies love their groomer Andrew at Little Critters. He understands them and knows exactly what we like them to look like. They are family there at Little Critters and if I wasn't around I would want them to still have their normalcy as much as possible. 

and finally

3. Nicknames: My babies have nicknames that they know. Their names are Lilly Pad and Olivia Grace but they answer to Lilly, Pad, Livie, Smushface, snotter, baby girl, and just simply girls. These are little touches that someone other than myself and my fiance may or may not know and they need that continuity. 

I implore you to go and get this book and fill it out so that your babies are not left without directions :)




"If I Should Die Before My Dog -" website        Facebook        Twitter

About the Authors
Author photo.jpg
Authors Joe and Cathy Connolly
Joe and Cathy Connolly have spent a lifetime owning, training and caring for dogs. Cathy grew up with a Collie breeder, dog groomer and dog handler while attending many different dog shows and eventually went on to work with other breeders as she grew older. They live in beautiful Northern Michigan with their 3 furry four legged children, one large dog, one small dog and the entire family is supervised by one bossy calico cat. 






   
amazon.co.uk           amazon.com

NOW FOR OUR SIGNED BOOK GIVEAWAY !!

5 LUCKY WINNERS!!

This special giveaway is brought to you by author's Joe and Cathy Connolly and Beck Valley Books
5 Lucky Winners will each receive a Signed Book from the authors.
Open US/CA, UK and Europe
Ending on Tuesday 18th December at 11.59pm EST


Enter Below and Good Luck !!

a Rafflecopter giveaway I received this book to review through Beck Valley Books, all the opinions above are 100% my own.


Monday, December 3, 2012

Stay Close by Harlan Coben

This was a twisting, turning, and captivating story.  Would you expect anything less from Harlan Coben?  It’s a little different for me, just because it wasn’t about Myron or Mickey Bolitar, but it was the same kind of feel because Coben’s writing is always great.  Megan has a past; it’s a past she’s tried to put behind her and tried to forget.  Seventeen years later something happens and makes her go back to Atlantic City, where everything from her past comes flooding back.  Men are disappearing or men are being murdered.  Megan thinks she can help.  She confides in Broome, the detective on the case for all these years.  He’s never given up and he continues to try to solve the mystery.

This books keeps you entertained and focused – you just have to know what’s going on and what really happened all those years ago, and what still seems to be happening now.  I definitely recommend this book… but you knew I would, it’s Harlan Coben after all.

Four out of five stars!


Thursday, November 29, 2012

If I Should Die Before My Dog Book Tour Giveaway

Ok guys my review for this book has not gone live yet but I wanted you to get the jump on the giveaway!!! Go and sign up it's a really cute book! :)

SIGNED BOOK GIVEAWAY !!


This special giveaway is brought to you by author's Joe and Cathy Connolly and Beck Valley Books  
5 Lucky Winners will each receive a Signed Book from the authors.
Open US/CA, UK and Europe
Ending on Tuesday 18th December at 11.59pm EST

A Dog Lovers lasting guide.......An beautifully illustrated interactive book that one fills in all of the information about their dogs life in the event they can no longer care for them to help ensure your pets are taken care of.

A thought provoking check list for dog lovers, who unfortunately and with much sadness can no longer take care of their dog. 

This book will assist those who want to prepare for their dogs future in an easy to use format that will guide them through the process of telling the "story" of their dogs life, for their pets "Next Guardian". 

None of us can predict the future, but in the event situations arise such as death, health impairment or left with no other choice but to give them up, this book will be there to assist your beloved pet with the transition from one home to another.

Enter Below and Good Luck !!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

MVM Book Review: Do-Ma - The Zen of Slobber by Barbara Boswell Brunner


dogmabadge3

”Dogma”
When Barbara meets her future husband, Ray, it is love-and dog-at first sight. Over the course of thirty-two years, seventeen re-locations and nine dogs, their mutual love of dogs guides them on their unconventional path. The love that Barbara and Ray get in return is literally lifesaving, with one dog attacking a lethal intruder and another discovering Barbara’s cancer. Her own survival story underscores the story of how her dogs become survivors themselves. Each new dog adds its own dynamic to the family, sometimes upending it. From Turbo (whose Spock-like ears may have provided super powers), Barbara learns about the will to live; Lexington demonstrates incredible patience and an inexplicable love of golf; Madison teaches that laughter is truly the best medicine and that the whole “nine lives thing” is not reserved just for cats; Morgan should be sainted for tolerating Izzy, who is as cute as she is bad. Barbara is certain that somewhere in doggie heaven there is a poster that says “If you are sick, injured or in need of really expensive medical care, FIND THESE HUMANS!” *******************************************


Ashley's Review!

Dog-Ma is a delightful story about a couple who has a love of dogs that transcends time and in their case place. This story is one you must read! I read the synopsis and just had to have it. I had to have it so much that I ASKED to get in on this book tour AFTER the tour was over!!!

You begin your journey into the lives of Barbara and Ray's life with their fur-babies with them starting out. After multiple promotions and business ventures you will go through the happiness and pain right along with them. You feel their excitement when they get a new puppy and you want to cry when tragedy strikes and they lose one of their amazing fur-children.

I am not one for spoilers so I won't go into too much detail but I will say this: YOU MUST GET THIS BOOK IF YOU ARE A DOG LOVER! You will laugh and cry. Go get it NOW!!!


barbaraboswellbrunner Author Bio Barbara grew up in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania with her parents, sister and always a dog, or two or three. She graduated Summa Cum Laude from a small women's college in Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania. Meeting her husband in Washington, DC, they continued together on a journey as self-proclaimed dog addicts. In the ensuing years, she founded three successful businesses in the Pacific Northwest and is a prolific fundraiser for breast cancer research. She and her husband are retired and now reside in Southwest Florida with two dogs and copious amounts of dog fur. She is currently working on indulging her well known flip flop addiction.

Website: http://www.dogmathebook.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorbarbarabrunner
Twitter: https://twitter.com/barbarabrunner

Disclosure: I received this book to review through Moms With Voices Media, all the opinions above are 100% my own.


5 SIGNED BOOKS TO WIN !!

”Dogma”

This fabulous giveaway is brought to you by 
5 Lucky winners will each receive a Signed Book from the author.
Open US/CA or ebook Worldwide
Ending on Tuesday 27th November at 11.59pm EST

Barbara's vivid and dramatic stories, told with a wicked sense of humor, will make you laugh out loud. She definitely gets what living with rescued dogs (nine of them!) is all about. This book will inspire you with the couple's unstinting love, devotion, and respect for dogs as family members. You'll be glad to include it in your treasured collection of great dog books.

When Barbara meets her future husband, Ray, it is love-and dog-at first sight. Over the course of thirty-two years, seventeen relocations and nine dogs, their mutual love of dogs guides them on their unconventional path. The love that Barbara and Ray get in return is literally lifesaving, with one dog attacking a lethal intruder and another discovering Barbara’s cancer. Her own survival story underscores the story of how her dogs become survivors themselves.

Each new dog adds its own dynamic to the family, sometimes upending it. From Turbo (whose Spock-like ears may have provided super powers), Barbara learns about the will to live; Lexington demonstrates incredible patience and an inexplicable love of golf; Madison teaches that laughter is truly the best medicine and that the whole “nine lives thing” is not reserved just for cats; Morgan should be sainted for tolerating Izzy, who is as cute as she is bad. Barbara is certain that somewhere in doggie heaven there is a poster that says “If you are sick, injured or in need of really expensive medical care, FIND THESE HUMANS!”

Enter Below!!

Good Luck !!

Monday, November 26, 2012

And We're Back!!!!

Hey-Yo Fellow Book worms!!!! There has been a lot going on in our lives so I figured that we owed YOU an explanation for falling off the face of the earth! Here is your update on our lives!

Me (Ashley): Well as if life in general wasn't crazy enough I decided that to help make a little extra spending money I would start selling Thirty-One so I have been crazy busy doing home and online parties and I am loving every minute of it. Like that wasn't enough for me I also had the pleasure of being proposed to on the 16th of November and I get to marry my lovely boyfriend now my "ce'"!!! I am getting married and the wedding planning is in full force but after the last week of crazy crazy planning and talking to different vendors about our plans for the day I realized that I missed reading! I miss it like crazy so I am going to make sure to make time for this blog and my kindle AGAIN! I am going to do everything I can to keep up with reading and making sure that there are loads of reviews for you all! One is coming very very soon!!!! So thats what is going on with me!!! I am going to let Destiny and Jamie let you know what has been going on with them next!!!!

Destiny:  As you all know, I have been ummm... Needle deep... In the whole IVF process. An entire cycle takes much longer than just one calendar month, much to my surprise. Not to mention I've been suffering from the ONE risk of IVF, ohss. It's been rough, painful road, but I am finally getting better. I HAVE been reading, though, so I will have reviews coming soon <3


Jamie: I quit my job at the end of September...so for the first couple of weeks in October I was reading like crazy and cranking out the reviews! I got caught up with hanging out with my two year old and doing other things around the house. I've realized that I missed reading and I'm ready to get back to it.

So there you have it our horrible excuses for why we haven't been around but we are all making a vow to try our best to get you more reviews!!!

Thanks for hangin in there with us!!! :)


Saturday, November 10, 2012

Crashers Giveaway!!!

Remember that Awesome Book I wrote about at the beginning of the month??? Well here is a way you can get it for free!!!!

THREE SIGNED BOOKS TO GIVEAWAY !!


This fabulous giveaway is brought to you by 
3 Lucky winners will each receive a Signed Book from the author.
Open Worldwide
Ending on Saturday 1st December at 11.59pm EST

Crashers is a modern day cautionary tale in a true to life novel.  A riveting story of love and desperation, greed and redemption.

Fraudulent car accidents is a multi-million dollar racket, involving unscrupulous medical providers, personal injury attorneys, and the cooperating passengers involved in the accidents—and who also receive a portion of the illegal proceeds. Such is the fate of newly engaged, Nathan and Shari, whose joy is tempered by the dark cloud of mounting debt.

A chance encounter with a stranger in whom Shari confides her troubles proves fortuitous: he tells her of a get-rich-quick scheme that will put her and her fiancĂ© on easy street. Seduced by the chance to move from hard times to good times in no time, Sheri takes the carrot offered her, and finds herself acting as a “stuffed passenger”—the “victim” in a staged auto accident. The act goes according to plan and Shari gets her payday, but getting out and breaking free of the insurance fraud underworld will take nothing short of a miracle.

Across the nation, insurance fraud from staged auto accident schemes costs the insured more than $50 billion yearly. Crashers is a true-to-life novel that uncovers how the innocent get lured into the scheme of "cappers" and "hammers."

Enter to Win!!

Good Luck!!
a Rafflecopter giveaway Photobucket

Thursday, November 1, 2012

Day 31: The End of It All :)


So today is the day Yesterday was the day since this didn't post like it was supposed to :)  I am going to let ya know that while I love posting something new often enough for you guys EVERYDAY is HARD no, nearly impossible! We are a team of 3 women PLUS other guest reviewers and for us to struggle with this assignment really said a lot! LOL I think next time we take a challenge it will be a 10 or 15 day challenge instead :) We are just not yet ready for that kind of commitment! LOL

One thing I did love about it was the amount of new readers who messaged us or commented on our page about how they were so happy to have found our site because of the linky on the Nester's Website! That's great because we are always happy to have a new reader or writer! Some people want so bad to blog but think that they can't do it because they do not know how to do HTML code (guess what??? I don't either I learn as I go!) or they don't think that anyone would want to hear what they have to say (yes they do because that's what is great about the internet! There are millions of people JUST LIKE YOU)

We have the links that will stay up on our sites both at the bottom of theses posts AND on the page tabby at the top! I seriously suggest at least checking out the other 31 Day'ers  and seeing if you find any new people to follow! I know I have added around 10 - 20 blogs on my blogroll to read and I couldn't be happier! 

So tell me now in the comments, which one of the 31 days posts did you like most?? Which one will you go back and read?? Which will you share????

Let me know! :) And THANK YOU for sticking with us through the last 31 days! Welcome to all of the new readers! :) Thank you to the Nester for creating an awesome linky! :)



Start from the beginning HERE

Check out the other 31 Day'ers Posts HERE

Crashers by Lindy S. Hudis








Book Description:
A riveting story of love and desperation, greed and redemption.
Fraudulent car accidents is a multi-million dollar racket, involving unscrupulous medical providers, personal injury attorneys, and the cooperating passengers involved in the accidents—and who also receive a portion of the illegal proceeds. Such is the fate of newly engaged, Nathan and Shari, whose joy is tempered by the dark cloud of mounting debt.
A chance encounter with a stranger in whom Shari confides her troubles proves fortuitous: he tells her of a get-rich-quick scheme that will put her and her fiancĂ© on easy street. Seduced by the chance to move from hard times to good times in no time, Sheri takes the carrot offered her, and finds herself acting as a “stuffed passenger”—the “victim” in a staged auto accident. The act goes according to plan and Shari gets her payday, but getting out and breaking free of the insurance fraud underworld will take nothing short of a miracle.

Read, Rate & Review's Review! 

Shari and Nathan are two hardworking twenty somethings trying to make their dreams come true. Nathan is on the fast track to being promoted at his investment firm and Shari only has a small obstacle of financial aid that stands between her and her completed student thesis.

Things are really looking up for them and Nathan decides to ask Shari to marry him. The next thing you know Shari loses her job and Nathan gets fired and their entire fairy tale world crashes down around them. From that point forward you are thrown into a whirlwind of crazy events and "double agents"!

Another awesome thing about this book??? It's being made into a Major Motion Picture :) I can not wait to see who they pick out to play these characters!!! I am thinking a Zac Efron for Nathan and a Lucy Hale for Shari! Definitely go and grab this book! You will not be sorry you did!!!






Lindy S. Hudis is a graduate of New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts. She is the author of a suspense novel, Weekends. Her screenplay “The Lesson” was made into an independent film and was screened at the Seattle Independent Film Festival and Cine-Nights in 2000. She lives in California with her husband and two children.


Author Links
Website: http://www.crashersbook.com/
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/lindy.hudis
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Lindyscribe

Get Your Own Copy HERE --->
Photobucket



I received this book to review through Moms With Voices Media, all the opinions above are 100% my own.




Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Day 30: Reading and Sandy?!?


First off let me start out by telling you readers who are affected by Sandy that our hearts and thoughts are with you! I am the only one of the three of us that is close enough to be affected by this storm but being right outside of Pittsburgh we are only getting the rain, snow & wind and it is not nearly as bad as those of you in the NY/NJ/DC area. We are thinking about you and sending lots of positive thoughts!

As serious as this storm is on the far far east coast I knew we wouldn't get as much of it but I was hoping for a bit of a power outage just enough to cause me to stay home and just have nothing more to do than read my books. Lately I have been on the internet or watching TV (there are some awesome shows on out there) and haven't been making time to read as much. I need to do that ASAP! And then on top of that I signed up to be a new consultant for ThirtyOne Gifts and I am about to get major busy but that's quite alright! I love being busy!! 

 I am excited that this weekend I am going to have to go to Morgantown, WV (Home of my alma mater - WVU! Let's GOOOOO Mountaineers lol) for my boyfriend who has to take his Praxis II exams. His mom and dad and I are all going to drive down Friday after work and go to the Brooke v. Morgantown High game (he is Brooke's special teams and defensive coach) and then stay in a hotel so he doesn't have to make the hour and a half the next morning again for his test! What this means is that I get to RIDE down with them so that is 1.5 hours worth of reading and then if it is raining I get to relax in the hotel room and just read to my hearts content! Pray for rain for Friday! :) I am really excited just for the drive down because I get to play passenger! I normally drive us everywhere so I never get the time to read in the car anymore! This is like a mini vacation for me! I am going to pack up a small ThirtyOne tote and be on my way! :) 

On that note! I am going to update you on my current reading (not that there is a big change but still...)

I am still reading Solomon v. Lord and I wish I could make time to read it more. Today I am going to read at lunch though so that should be good and then like I said I have loads of time this weekend too!!! :) 

What are you reading now??? Anything new???








Start from the beginning HERE

Check out the other 31 Day'ers Posts HERE

Monday, October 29, 2012

Day 27, 28, 29: Monday's Manifest: Destiny's 7 Favorite Book Characters


Last time I made a list of 7 things, it was my 7 favorite books. Today's post is about my 7 favorite book CHARACTERS. One reason I love reading a series is because I get so attached to the characters. I never want them to end! I want to read all about EVERYTHING my favorite characters live through... Which could be why some of my favorite series are 10+ books long and counting!

Now for my list!!!!

And yes, this order IS specific!!!!!

7. Christian Grey - What Fifty fan doesn't absolutely ADORE the fabulous Christian from Fifty Shade of Grey?! There's just something about a hot shot businessman who changes his life for the woman he loves. Not only that, but the way he cares for Anna (and shows it!!) is heartwarming!

6. Ranger - From the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich, Ranger is the ultimate bad boy - with good intentions. He doesn't try to make himself seem like a good guy, but he seems to always be saving Plum. If you're a Plum fan, you're either Team Morelli or Team Ranger... I'm definitely Team Ranger!!!!

5. "Bubba" AKA Elvis - Bubba, in the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris has a special place in my heart. You don't have to already be an Elvis fan to fall for Bubba, he'll win you over instantly! He isn't the same man he was while alive, but this new "version" of the legendary singer is more than anyone could hope for!

4. Roman Draganesti - My absolute favorite from the Love at Stake series by Kerrelyn Sparks! Not only is he an awesome vampy husband to a mortal... he's also [SPOILER ALERT] an amazing father! He takes care of all of his employees and seems to have a special bond with everyone!

3. Simi Parthenopaeus - I love Simi so much I named my cat after her! Simi is a demon in the Dark Hunter series by Sherrilyn Kenyon. She is also the daughter of Acheron. She is hilarious and troublesome, which means she's a constant source of entertainment!

2. Lucy Kincaid - Lucy comes from quite a family (which you get a look into in her series and the No Evil series by Allison Brennan), but she takes the cake. She overcomes a terrible situation in her teen years, and is a better person for it. I love reading about her life adventures and watching her grow!

1. Acheron Parthenopaeus - The leader of the Dark Hunters! He has quite a history, and in his book you get a look at his entire life... His book is beyond fabulous but I love seeing him in the other books in the DH series, helping out and leading others!







Start from the beginning HERE

Check out the other 31 Day'ers Posts HERE

Friday, October 26, 2012

Day 26: What Jamie Is Reading


What I'm Reading...

Just a glimpse into what I'm reading - Stay Close by Harlan Coben. This is a little different because it's not from the Myron or Mickey Bolitar series', but a stand alone where new characters and new situations are introduced. I recently became a SAHM, so you can imagine that our days can be busy.. especially now during potty training. Something that is a constant for me, what I do every week day - I walk on the treadmill and read with my Kindle! I love the time I have to devote to diving into a book.


Start from the beginning HERE

Check out the other 31 Day'ers Posts HERE

Thursday, October 25, 2012

Day 23, 24 & 25: Review of Eleventh Hour by James Patterson



Even though Sergeant Lindsay Boxer is pregnant, she’s not slowing down.  She is trying to crack the case of who is gunning down drug dealers.  The killer is so precise that Lindsay and her partner, Rich, are beginning to think it’s professional – someone within the SFPD.

While they are working this case, another one comes in.  Heads, yes heads… have turned out at the old Ellsworth Compound, a house that has been around since the late 1800’s.  Two heads were being displayed in the garden behind the house.  Once the law enforcement team and medical professionals showed up, it was discovered that there were actually a total of seven heads buried there.  The house and grounds belong to a well-known, big-time actor.  This story gets a lot of news and it’s one they need to figure out and put to rest.

Lindsay and Rich do what they do best, along with help from Cindy, Claire, and Yuki.  When the four ladies put their heads together, there isn’t anything they can’t get figured out.

Another fantastic book by James Patterson – four out of five stars for me.  I’ll be anxious to read the twelfth in the series!

Grab your own copy from out affiliate link below :) 















Start from the beginning HERE

Check out the other 31 Day'ers Posts HERE

Monday, October 22, 2012

Day 22: Monday's Manifest: Ryder's Favorite Books



Children's Books

My son has three favorite books.

The first is Imagine by Mark Marshall. This is a fun one for the parents to read, too! It's big, it's the thick pages so it isn't easily messed up. The pictures are fun and the story is cute.

The second is Charlie the Ranch Dog by Ree Drummond. My parents bought this book for my son, so he reads it all the time when he's at their house. He knows all of the characters - the dog, the dog's friend, the cow... and there is a cowboy and a little boy that they say is my son and his uncle! Such a cute book!

The third is Pajama Time by Sandra Boynton. I love reading this to my son. It's fun and catchy and it's one that's okay to read over and over and over again! My son picked up on the words and even helps me read it now.

Do you have a favorite children's book?




Start from the beginning HERE

Check out the other 31 Day'ers Posts HERE


Sunday, October 21, 2012

Day 19, 20 & 21: Apologizing and Books I Am Reading Right Now!!


Sorry it's been a couple of days. I was really proud of our ability to post every day for the last 18 days of the month. Well Friday we fell off the wagon. Life has been getting in the way of everything lately but I am going to make sure that that does not include this site. We all really really care about our readers and love that you guys look forward to our new posts every day/week. Granted after this 31 day challenge is over we are going to go back to posting 1-2 posts 3-4 days a week. not every day because let me tell ya I am exhausted lol. So on that note here are the books I am currently reading :)

  1. Soloman vs. Lord by Paul Levine - I got this one off of Pixel of Ink for FREE!!! Love it so far! Can't wait to keep going into this series! 
  2. Men Don't Pee Straight by Mr. Rick Dean - This one is hilarious! AND great news is that I am going to be posting a review, author interview AND GIVEAWAY!!! We are going to give away 3-4 copies of this book to our readers so stay tuned to hear more about that!!!! 







Start from the beginning HERE

Check out the other 31 Day'ers Posts HERE


Friday, October 19, 2012

New Guest Review: Mr. Darcy is back!!!


Dear Mr. Darcy. A retelling of Pride and Prejudice – Amanda Grange, 2012

From the back of the book:
“In this imaginative retelling of Pride and Prejudice, Amanda Grange now tells the classic story through the eyes of its compelling romantic hero, Fitzwilliam Darcy, in a series of revealing letters that casts a sparkling new reflection on the manners and morals of the landed gentry in nineteenth-century England…”

From amazon.com:
“Here, for the first time, are the letters written by the exceedingly proud and stubborn Mr. Darcy, covering the life-changing events that defined him—from the death of his father, to his control of his Derbyshire estate of Pemberley to his conflicted courtship with the lively, intelligent, and delightfully willful Elizabeth Bennet. Try as he may, he cannot deny his attraction to this woman with fine eyes, a playful spirit, a mind of her own… and an embarrassing family that is frankly, and utterly, beneath him. But it is Elizabeth who controls both their destinies, and whose surprises will change Darcy’s life yet again.

As a Jane Austen fan, I have read all of the published novels, as well as some spinoffs and continuation, including Captain Wentworth’s Diary (Amanda Grange) and Death at Pemberley (P.D. James). It was thus a natural progression to read the newly available Dear Mr. Darcy.

The title, as well as the writing on the back may be misleading, for part of me expected to find only letters written by Mr. Darcy. In fact, letters are written by most of the familiar Pride and Prejudice characters, as well as some new characters we either no nothing of, or are merely implied. Through these letters, we learn of the original owners of Netherfield, as well as Colonel Fitzwilliam’s family. We see the ordeal between Georgiana and Wickham from their point of view, and we get glimpses into two characters that remain quite obscure to us: Mary Bennett and Anne de Bourgh. All the while with the background of the Napoleonic expeditions in Europe and the ongoing war, justifying the presence of the militia in Meryton and Brighton.

The story itself, of course, is not new. We find in it the familiarity of the original story, while gaining more insight into the world of Jane Austen and the mood of her characters. We stand side by side with Darcy as he falls in love with Elizabeth, we feel Jane’s sadness ad being left by Bingley, and we partake of Caroline’s scheming to get Darcy to marry her.

All in all, it is a well written book and enjoyable to all Jane Austen fans. If you love Pride and Prejudice, it’s quite sure you’re going to love this book. It is not an adventure, nor a thriller, but more a work of reflection and the study of human interactions and feelings. I definitely recommend it to anyone who loves Jane Austen and would like to feel more of the story through its memorable characters. Rating, four and a half stars. Not five, because nothing beats the original story :D

Get your own copy at Amazon.com



Thursday, October 18, 2012

AUTHOR INTERVIEW!!! Veronika Carnaby author of Bohemia



From the author who brought you "Bohemia", Veronika Carnaby answers Jamie of Read, Rate & Review's questions!
*Where are you from? I’m originally from New Hampshire, USA, but I’ve traveled so much for so long that I feel more a citizen of the world than any one confined geographic location.


*What inspired you to write this book? Take a handful of personal experiences and combine them with an admiration for the '50s, the '60s, and the Beat Generation, and there you have Bohemia in a nut shell. I think that, to some degree, the situations that one goes through during their life shape their creative work and that couldn't be truer for myself.


*How did you come up with the title? For me, a title comes together the moment the storyline does. It simply clicks. I can visualize the work as a whole and I choose a word or phrase that best describes it. Such was the case for Bohemia. I’m not sure exactly where it comes from, but when it does, it’s a beautiful thing. It’s just so evocative. Just by the title, you can gather a lot about the author, the story.


*Is the book based on someone you know, or events in your own life? Very much so. Valerie Freed just so happens to relate with much of what I’ve gone through as a budding writer and the period prior to that. And many of the characters and situations have been slightly based on those around me.


*If you had it to do all over again, would you change anything about the book? Not a thing. It’s all part of the learning curve. Any mistakes I made now will not be repeated the next time around, but there will always be imperfections. 

We want to thank Ms. Carnaby for taking the time to answer our questions! Please check out my review for Bohemia HERE and pick up your own copy at amazon.com with this link below.





Day 18: Book Blog Link Up



Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Day 17: How I Keep Track of What I've Read




Because I love to read and read pretty quickly – and because I don’t have the best memory… I had to come up with a book list to help me keep track of what I’ve read and what I still need to read.  I have it organized first by the author’s last name so that it’s alphabetical when I’m searching the list.  Then by the name of the book and if it belongs to a series, an ‘x’ to show I’ve read it, and then a message of whether it’s on my Kindle to be read next or the date the book comes out.  Here’s a snipet from my list:

Click Picture to view larger


How do you stay organized?









Start from the beginning HERE

Check out the other 31 Day'ers Posts HERE

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

TV Tuesday: American Horror Story

Ok so I bit the bullet and finally got the first season of American Horror Story to watch so I would be caught up on the style of the show and not shocked when I started the new season tomorrow. Let me tell you I love it!!! I was seriously spooked when I started watching them last night but now after being on Episode 7 of Season 1 I am much more intrigued and not as much scared.

If you haven't seen it before I will let you know that the seasons are stand-alone. You DO NOT have to watch them in order unless you are a freak like I am :) You can just pick up at the beginning of the new season tomorrow night 10pm on FX and watch from there.

Synopsis of the Season 1:  (From IMDB) A family of three move from Boston to Los Angeles as a means of reconciling their past anguish. They move to a restored mansion, unaware that the home is haunted.

My Synopsis: CRAZY!!! The season begins with you meeting Vivian Harmon a wife and mother who came home from grocery shopping finds her husband cheating on her with one of his students and they move from Boston to Los Angelos (why I have no idea) and they move into a haunted mansion which is the home to 15+ ghosts all of which have died in the house and because of the house. It kind of reminds me of the Hotel California - You can check out anytime you like but you can never leave lol. The things that happen to this family makes my skin crawl! It's crazy nutty psychotic fun!

Every episode begins with a clip from the past in a different year (1978, 2010, 1902...) and shows how the other characters in the show have either died or explains their story a bit more.

I'm telling you GO GET THIS! Rent it! Get Netflix with DVD's and watch it!!! Borrow it from a friend just watch it. I literally could not stop myself from watching this show last night until Mr. Lovely came back down stairs at almost 2AM and asked me when I was coming to bed! It was that good I didn't even care about sleep (and I love my sleep)

So tell me, what do you think about the show if you have seen it? Are you watching the new season American Horror Story: Asylum tomorrow night??? If you do watch it tomorrow let me know what you thought of it in the comments below!!!




Day 16: Happy Dictionary Day!



When : Today!

Why:  Well apparently Dictionary Day is in honor of Noah Webster, considered the Father of the American Dictionary. Noah Webster was born on October 16, 1758. So you are celebrating this amazing man's birthday!

So we here at Read, Rate & Review hope you will celebrate Dictionary Day by reading the "Good Book"......the Dictionary! We challenge you to learn some new words today.

Post some of your favorites in the comments below!


Pick yourself up a new copy of the Webster's Dictionary




Start from the beginning HERE

Check out the other 31 Day'ers Posts HERE

Monday, October 15, 2012

Monday's Manifest - Destiny's Favorite Authors

My Seven Favorite Authors!!!

I'm a bit of a genre jumper, so these authors will be all over the place! But I guarantee you they are ALL worth checking out!!!

1. Sherrilyn Kenyon - Particularly love the Dark Hunter Series! Her characters are all marvelous!

2. JR Ward - Well known for her Black Dagger Brotherhood series, my favorite is the Fallen Angel series!

3. Kerrelyn Sparks - Author of the Love At Stake series, FABULOUSLY funny series with love thrown in!

4. Allison Brennan - I have yet to read a book by Brennan that I didn't love, but I'm partial to the Lucy Kincaid series because she's just wonderful and she's one of my favorite book characters EVER!

5. Iris Johansen - I've loved all of Johansen's books, but her Eve Duncan series has a special place in my heart!!

6. Carly Alexander - Alexander wins my "My Favorite Christmas book" award for The Secret Life of Mrs Claus. I read it EVERY year, and every year I fall more and more for the book. So she in turn, has become one of my favorite authors!

7. Lisa Gardner - Wow. Just wow. Her books all keep me on my toes and I find myself scared to be home alone even well after I've finished reading them.


Day 15: Fifty Shades of Grey Movie Casting???


OK so EVERYONE that has read the Fifty Shades Books has been buzzing ever since we heard that the movie rights were bought! Who is going to play who???? Well I am going to let you know right now who I think should be cast!!!

Christian Grey – Chris Hemsworth

Ana Steele Grey – Emmy Rossum














Elena Lincoln – Charlize Theron
Kate Kavanagh – Anna Kendrick
Elliot Grey – Paul Walker

Mia Grey – Lily Collins
Ethan Kavanagh – Zac Efron
Grace Grey – Kate Walsh
Carrick Grey – Reed Diamond













Ray Steele – Billy Burke
Sawyer – Sam Worthington
Taylor – Wentworth Miller
Leila – Alexandra Daddario
Jose Rodriguez – Jesse Metcalfe













So what do you all think??? Any changes you would make!!! Let us know!!! I for one can not wait to hear who the cast is going to include!












Start from the beginning HERE


Check out the other 31 Day'ers Posts HERE

Share :)

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...