Monday, July 22, 2013

SIGNED BOOK GIVEAWAY!!! The Resurrection of Hannah


 photo 2dade9a2-7f82-421b-9eff-5ef0cda7cefc_zps142f7bba.jpg

This fantastic giveaway has been brought to you by
2 SIGNED BOOK Winners - open to US
3 Runner-up ebook prizes - open worldwide
Ending on Sunday 11th August at 11.59pm EST

Samantha Clark meets with a monthly group to delve into subjects of interest. They dabble in meditation, dream work, and hypnosis — just friends having fun. But lately Sammi is feeling off-kilter and plagued with poor sleep. Searching for a natural solution, she discovers a bitter herb known to induce slumber, whips up a concoction to sweeten the herb, and imbibes. Unbeknownst to her, these areas of experimentation are whirling together to form the perfect storm, one that will blow open an entrance in Sammi’s mind that leads to another world, a door that can never again be closed.

She becomes enmeshed with two friends in a tug of war between life and death: Melissa is dealing with a complicated pregnancy and Julie is wrestling with cancer. Adding to this turmoil is Sammi’s disconnect with her career as a psychotherapist; her life doesn’t seem to fit any longer. Into the drama walks Todd, a handsome, laid-back guy who lightens up her days. Trouble is, Sammi is having a hard time getting close, and a nagging sense of doubt and fear. Like so many times in the past …

But the topper to all this is the dreams. They begin innocuously…but quickly morph into mind-blowing spiritual adventures. The crazy nocturnal activity appears to be related to a soulful character trying to make himself known. In a quest to uncover the truth, Sammi researches clues discovered during her nighttime romps. What she finds is another facet of herself…all wrapped up in post-colonial 18th-century clothes. Sammi flies off to New England, and with the aid of the Rev. Clark, her skeptical father, she embarks on an adventure, revealing a tragic, centuries-old mystery. One only Sammi can solve.

Enter Below to Win !!  Good Luck !!
 photo hannahbadge2_zps05b51bc3.jpg

Friday, July 19, 2013

GIVEAWAY: It's Just A Dog by Russ Ryan - Signed Book Giveaway!!!

 
This Dogtastic Giveaway has been brought to you by
Open Worldwide
Ending on Sunday 11th August at 11.59pm EST

What if your dog died and then came back as a ghost…that could talk? Would you welcome him back with open arms or run away scared to death? 

This is the premise of IT’S JUST A DOG, a new novel about love, loss, and one man’s dog who rises up yapping from the grave.

Charlie Keefe is not just your typical dog lover –– he’s a world famous dog painter, a.k.a. “The Picasso of Pooch Portraits”. Unfortunately, Charlie’s beloved muse, Pete, his lovable Jack Russell terrier, has just died. And he’s totally devastated by the loss of his furry best friend.

So, after months of grieving over his dearly departed soulmate, Charlie reluctantly agrees to foster a new puppy –– a cute Cavalier King Charles spaniel named Brownie from the local animal shelter. Soon after, Charlie is surprised to find himself falling head over heels with this new puppy girl, his ‘Rebound Dog’, as he calls her –– as well as being romantically attracted to Janelle Jordan, the head hound at the dog rescue.

But then complications arise when the ghost of his old dog, Pete, mysteriously reappears one night and comes back to haunt him and the new puppy –– setting off a bizarre chain of events that throw Charlie’s life, career, and entire belief system into chaos!

If you’ve enjoyed such classic dog books as The Art of Racing in the Rain and A Dog’s Purpose, then you are bound to find a place in your heart for IT’S JUST A DOG. 

IT’S JUST A DOG is not just for dogs. It’s for anyone who has ever lost a pet –– and learned to love again. If you’re a feel-good fan of dog books, make IT’S JUST A DOG your special treat!

Enter Below and Good Luck !! 

Sunday, July 14, 2013

Beck Valley Books - The Resurrection of Hannah (A novel inspired by true events) by Kathryne Arnold

 photo hannahbadge2_zps05b51bc3.jpg


Samantha Clark meets with a monthly group to delve into subjects of interest. They dabble in meditation, dream work, and hypnosis — just friends having fun. But lately Sammi is feeling off-kilter and plagued with poor sleep. Searching for a natural solution, she discovers a bitter herb known to induce slumber, whips up a concoction to sweeten the herb, and imbibes. Unbeknownst to her, these areas of experimentation are whirling together to form the perfect storm, one that will blow open an entrance in Sammi’s mind that leads to another world, a door that can never again be closed.

She becomes enmeshed with two friends in a tug of war between life and death: Melissa is dealing with a complicated pregnancy and Julie is wrestling with cancer. Adding to this turmoil is Sammi’s disconnect with her career as a psychotherapist; her life doesn’t seem to fit any longer. Into the drama walks Todd, a handsome, laid-back guy who lightens up her days. Trouble is, Sammi is having a hard time getting close, and a nagging sense of doubt and fear. Like so many times in the past …

But the topper to all this is the dreams. They begin innocuously…but quickly morph into mind-blowing spiritual adventures. The crazy nocturnal activity appears to be related to a soulful character trying to make himself known. In a quest to uncover the truth, Sammi researches clues discovered during her nighttime romps. What she finds is another facet of herself…all wrapped up in post-colonial 18th-century clothes. Sammi flies off to New England, and with the aid of the Rev. Clark, her skeptical father, she embarks on an adventure, revealing a tragic, centuries-old mystery. One only Sammi can solve.

************************************************
My Review
************************************************
Kathryne Arnold, you are amazing! The Resurrection of Hannah was an amazing book. It had me guessing to the very end and I couldn't help myself and had to read it every chance I got! 

The main character makes you want to help her, soothe her, assist her in her journey. The whole concept surrounding the events in this book were very fascinating to a person like me who never remembers her dreams and always wishes she did. It made me want to run out and get dream books and different dream inducing herbs like Sammi did in the book.

Once I picked up this book it was all over for me. I couldn't do anything else until it was done! I just had to find out what happened next! 

I would definitely recommend it to anyone and personally I can not wait for the next installment of Sammi's story! 



Buy the book from
About the Author
Author Kathryne Arnold
I was raised in the northeastern United States, in the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch Country, and resided in a half-dozen homes or towns throughout my growing up years. My father was a reverend with a flourishing career, moving the family to various parishes as his calling dictated, which I view in a positive light as I was exposed to different communities and lifestyles. After graduating from high school at the age of seventeen, I moved with my father to Massachusetts.

Thrilled to begin college in New England, I jumped in with both feet and managed to excel in biological and psychological studies upon which I secured my very first "real" job as a Senior Psychiatric Counselor at a group home for adults with mental illness. Wanting to further my learning, I attended Suffolk University in Beacon Hill in Boston, and graduated two years later, obtaining a Masters degree in Counseling and Human Relations.   Over the next twenty years I concentrated further on my work in counseling and social services and became a licensed practitioner.

Several years ago, due to a deep longing to express my feelings in an alternative manner, I literally sat down one day and began writing my first novel. The resultant book, The Resurrection of Hannah, had been born out of a series of powerful dreams, along with compelling and coexisting experiences that inspired me to create a story that would capture the strength of my emotions. I had a yearning to shape a tale based around individuals in my life that I believed would make engaging characters. I had a strong desire to experience a higher level of creativity, to literally produce something out of nothing- a fascinating and challenging endeavor I could not ignore. It was during this time that I became a clinical hypnotherapist and a nationally certified counselor, as well as starting a private practice as a psychotherapist.   I also decided to move back to friends and family in Florida and worked again at the local Hospice, then more recently in community mental health. Once bitten by the writing bug, I could not help but pen my second work of fiction, The Fear of Things to Come. I am now in the process of writing another novel in what I consider a unique collection of adventure stories, the third in the Samantha Clark Mystery Series.

Follow the Author 
Website

 photo hannahbadge2_zps05b51bc3.jpg

 
printed book           ebook version

I received this book to review through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, all the opinions above are 100% my own.

Wednesday, July 3, 2013

Beck Valley Books Tour: It's Just a Dog by Russ Ryan

 photo 038ea0fa-48e1-436f-8991-2a099cf9b383_zps171c5e4e.jpg


What if your dog died and then came back as a ghost…that could talk? Would you welcome him back with open arms or run away scared to death? 

This is the premise of IT’S JUST A DOG, a new novel about love, loss, and one man’s dog who rises up yapping from the grave.

Charlie Keefe is not just your typical dog lover –– he’s a world famous dog painter, a.k.a. “The Picasso of Pooch Portraits”. Unfortunately, Charlie’s beloved muse, Pete, his lovable Jack Russell terrier, has just died. And he’s totally devastated by the loss of his furry best friend.

So, after months of grieving over his dearly departed soulmate, Charlie reluctantly agrees to foster a new puppy –– a cute Cavalier King Charles spaniel named Brownie from the local animal shelter. Soon after, Charlie is surprised to find himself falling head over heels with this new puppy girl, his ‘Rebound Dog’, as he calls her –– as well as being romantically attracted to Janelle Jordan, the head hound at the dog rescue.

But then complications arise when the ghost of his old dog, Pete, mysteriously reappears one night and comes back to haunt him and the new puppy –– setting off a bizarre chain of events that throw Charlie’s life, career, and entire belief system into chaos!

If you’ve enjoyed such classic dog books as The Art of Racing in the Rain and A Dog’s Purpose, then you are bound to find a place in your heart for IT’S JUST A DOGPart Book, Part Blog, ALL DOG, (Okay, there may be a few cat videos, too, to show some love for the other team!)

**********************************************
My Review
**********************************************


Ok So most of you have heard all about my wedding but I realized after telling the author I had written about my own loss of a dog that I hadn't actually written about my BoBo dog on this blog. I had a personal blog a while ago and I had written all about him on there. So my apologies to Russ who searched Read, Rate and Review for posts that did not exist! This is going to be part blog, part review, and all love! 

It's Just A Dog grabbed me immediately. I was only 6 pages into it and I was crying like a little baby! I even felt so much about this book that I found myself writing this long tear infused email to Russ Ryan (the amazing and brilliant author) before I could continue. I felt his pain over his obvious loss (even if I realized after reading the book and having a more clear mind that this book is fiction but HAD to be based upon his own loss due to the real, heart felt emotion he was able to portray through his words). 

This book is all about an artist who gets a dog and that dog ends up being his muse, launching his career to heights he never imagined. Pete, the dog, was everything to Charlie. People without children tend to feel as though their pets are their children. I know I do without a doubt! (Not saying that people with children do not feel the same way but you know what I mean!) Pete was getting up there in years and had been unable to travel with Charlie so Charlie had to leave him at home with his manager taking care of him when he went to a gallery opening in Paris. While he is gone Pete gets so sick that there was nothing more to do but to put him to sleep and Charlie lost his best friend. The story that follows includes ghost dogs, new puppies, and new human loves and it's all because one man loved one dog. This is a must read book for any dog lover and as of the day I am writing this review it was only listed at $2.99 for the E-Book on Amazon!!! Seriously that is a steal and you should be ashamed of yourself for paying that little for this amazing book but not ashamed enough to not get it right now! 

Now to my story and my reason for my ridiculous emotion response. Last year on February 29, 2012, I watched my little boy dog get hit by a car. I was helpless. I was angry and I was guilty. I had turned my back for one second and in that one second my life forever changed. I grieved, my fiance' grieved, and as hard as we grieved our little girl Lilly grieved 100 times harder! She cried, searched for him, stopped eating, moped around and just went into a depression. Witnessing her reaction to losing her best friend and love was harder than anything else we were dealing with. When Russ described Charlie crying and being so inconsolable on the plane ride home I thought of how I needed to go to Walmart and get dog food the very next day after BoBo died and how I probably looked like a crazy person because I was sobbing and snotting all over the dog food aisle to the extent that my mother had to pretty much carry me away, put me in the car, and go back in and get the food herself because I just couldn't do it. I took a few days off of work (luckily my boss was a big time animal lover and completely understood) and in those few days I did what most people that lose a fur-baby never do. I sat online searching for a new puppy. Not for me but for my little Lilly Pad who was breaking my heart more and more every hour. She had never been alone and she needed a friend and all I wanted to do was help ease her pain. About 4 days later we came across the perfect dog and companion for our little girl and grabbed her up right away. Do I regret it? Absolutely not. Do I think she "took BoBo's place"? NEVER! But what I do know is that she has helped my entire family heal. Both of our parents, both of us and most importantly Lilly Pad. 



This review is dedicated to my BoBo Alexander Pugh who doesn't leave our hearts or minds or even conversations for even a day. We miss you more than anything and we thank you for sending us our little Olivia Grace :)









Buy the book from....


About the Author 
russ ryan it's just a dog author photo2 medium

Aside from being a dog lover and a dog widower, RUSS RYAN has written and developed screenplays with the Hollywood producers of American Pie, Final Destination, and Fireflies in the Garden. He was also a writer on a really bad teen comedy, National Lampoon’s Repli-kate, starring Eugene Levy. This is his first novel.

In addition, he is the creator of Meansheets, a vintage movie poster blog that focuses on the greatest artists and illustrators from the 1940′s-1980′s.



Follow the Author 
Author's Website 
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads

 photo 038ea0fa-48e1-436f-8991-2a099cf9b383_zps171c5e4e.jpg


I received this book to review through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, all the opinions above are 100% my own.


Saturday, June 29, 2013

SNEAK PEAK: White Chalk by Pavarti K. Tyler

WHITE CHALK by Pavarti K. Tyler coming July 22, 2013


Literary Fiction/Coming of Age Novel with a brave look at teenage life, containing some strong adult themes to generate honest and frank conversation.




About the Book

Chelle isn’t a typical 13-year-old girl—she doesn’t laugh with friends, play sports, or hang out at the mall after school. Instead, she navigates a world well beyond her years.

Life in Dawson, ND spins on as she grasps at people, pleading for someone to save her—to return her to the simple childhood of unicorns on her bedroom wall and stories on her father’s knee.

When Troy Christiansen walks into her life, Chelle is desperate to believe his arrival will be her salvation. So much so, she forgets to save herself. After experiencing a tragedy at school, her world begins to crack, causing a deeper scar in her already fragile psyche.

Follow Chelle’s twisted tale of modern adolescence, as she travels down the rabbit hole into a reality none of us wants to admit actually exists.


  • Publisher: Evolved Publishing
  • Publication Date: July 22, 2013
  • Genre: Literary Fiction
  • SubGenre: Coming of Age
  • Audience: Adult
  • Pages: 250


ADD WHITE CHALK TO GOODREADS


a Rafflecopter giveaway


White Chalk (Evolved Publishing) marks Tyler’s third full length novel and promises readers familiar with her work the same mind bending experience.  Her other projects include: Shadow on the Wall (Fighting Monkey Press) and Two Moons of Sera (Fighting Monkey Press).  Shadow on the Wall has been received many awards: Winner of the General Fiction/Novel Category of the 2012 Next Generation Indie Book Awards, Winner in the Fiction: Multicultural category for The 2012 USA Best Book Awards, and Finalist in the Multicultural Fiction category for the 2012 International Book Awards.

White Chalk has been hailed as “brave”, “raw”, and “destroyingly beautiful”.  In line with novels such as White Oleander, Thirteen Reasons Why and Gemma, White Chalk invites you to witness one girl’s heartrending story of confusion and desperation.

Award winning author of multi-cultural and transgressive literature, Pavarti K Tyler is an artist, wife, mother and number cruncher. She graduated Smith College in 1999 with a degree in Theatre. After graduation, she moved to New York, where she worked as a Dramaturge, Assistant Director and Production Manager on productions both on and off Broadway. Later, Pavarti went to work in the finance industry several international law firms. She now lives with her husband, two daughters and one very large, very terrible dog. She keeps busy working with fabulous authors as the Director of Marketing at Novel Publicity and penning her next genre bending novel.

Find her around the web:



To signup for the main tour click HERE! The Finishing Faeries need you!



Share :)

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...